Posted by: coachingparents | December 25, 2009

Admitting Our Own Mistakes


by Danielle Koprowski

My Dad had two sayings I remember very distinctly from my childhood. The first was “I may not always be right, but I am never wrong.” The second, “I thought I made a mistake once, but I was wrong.” As you can imagine for a man who used these phrases often, it was rather impossible for him to admit a mistake and I am certain that the words, “I am sorry” never crossed his lips in my presence.

Never being able to admit fault and apologize is a very painful way to go though life, it is truly detrimental to relationships. Let that not be you.

For some of us, as parents, it is very difficult to admit fault and apologize to our kids, especially if your models (your parents) were anything like mine. But it can be really freeing when we are able to do this because we no longer have to be perfect, to be right all the time (or pretend that we are) and we have a way to repair our mis-steps with our kids.

Be the model for your children that teaches, it is okay to make mistakes and you can repair relationships with the words, “I am sorry.”

Question of the week: Is it a challenge for me to apologize to my kids? If so, what can I do about it?

Danielle Koprowski
Free To Be Parenting Support
ACPI Certified Coach for Parents
www.freetobeparenting.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

