Posted by: coachingparents | December 18, 2009

Doing What Works


by Danielle Koprowski

I am a big fan of doing what works for my family. I recently saw a post on Mamasource from a sleep deprived mom of an 18 month old who was trying to find a solution to her nighttime woes. She described the scenario that happens all across this country of the up and down at night going back and forth from Master Bedroom to babies room. I wrote back to her and suggested co-sleeping and the website www.cosleeping.org.

Co-sleeping is something that works for many families allowing everyone to get the rest they need. But there is some stigma in society around the issue of having children sleep with us. (I find it interesting that people are potentially more willing to allow their pets in the bed than they are their children.) Many parents opt for the crib/ separate sleeping arrangement even though it isn’t working for them because that is the social norm.

I say it’s time to buck all the social norms and do what works!

Questions of the week: What is really working well for me and my family? (Be grateful!)
How can I have resolution in the areas that are not working as well as I would like? Is there anything I think might work that I have been adverse to trying?

Danielle Koprowski
Free To Be Parenting Support
ACPI Certified Coach for Parents
www.freetobeparenting.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

