Posted by: coachingparents | December 2, 2009

One of My Best Parenting Moments to Date


by Danielle Koprowski

This article is so poignant after the article last week on modeling. Does modeling work? You bet ya!

I was driving home with my son (5) after picking up from a local co-op. The pick up is normally a half hour drive each way, but there was a bad accident and the trip home took more than twice as long as usual.

My son was frustrated and in an agitated voice he told me to get him one of the books I keep in the car. I got it for him and didn’t think much of his agitation, understanding that this whole experience is likely not a lot of fun for him.

About 20 minutes later we finally arrive home and as we are pulling into the driveway, out of the clear blue my son says, “Mom, I am sorry for yelling at you.” I said, “Oh, I forgive you. I understand how frustrating it can be to be stuck in traffic.” I did not think much about this exchange that moment, except that it was touching.

Then about five minutes later, it dawns on me, how huge this moment was. Without prompting, prodding, or guilting (the things many think we need to do in order to ellicit this behavior) he apologized for something HE decided was incorrect. I know this moment was born of my own apologies to him for my own flawed moments. And it is also the burgeoning of introspection and empathy. Too Cool! 🙂

Danielle Koprowski
Free To Be Parenting Support
ACPI Certified Coach for Parents
www.freetobeparenting.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

