Posted by: coachingparents | November 13, 2009

What Kind of World Do You Want?


By Danielle Koprowski

Imagine a world in which you would feel safe expressing yourself freely. Expressing all of the emotions that we normally suppress while in public. What if we all felt safe to express ourselves, our deepest pains and our greatest joys, no matter where we were?

I got a question from a mom about allowing children to emote in public. She wrote, “most people seem to believe that allowing a child to emote in public or in a house with neighbors within earshot is disrespectful to others and disturbing their peace.” This may be true but let us consider why. It is only because so many of us were emotionally suppressed as children.  We continue that suppression as adults, consequently many hold this belief and are uncomfortable with the natural expression of emotional life.

The possibility that others around me are uncomfortable with strong emotions is not good enough reason for me to discourage my child’s emotional expression. In fact, I think it is good reason to encourage it. For me to be the example of the world  I would like to create, the world imaged above. My example could inspire others.

I can not know if my example will affect those around me, but I do know, that the world we create for our children can be a place where it is safe to express freely, a place where they are met with compassion and understanding.

Danielle Koprowski
Free To Be Parenting Support
ACPI Certified Coach for Parents
www.freetobeparenting.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

